Top Curve

Council recognizes seven volunteers in honour of National Volunteer Week

Posted on Wednesday April 18, 2018

Cobourg, ON – April 18, 2018 – Winston Churchill famously noted that “we make a life by what we give.” Several community members were recognized today by Northumberland County Council for giving of themselves to make life better for local residents. In honour of National Volunteer Week, taking place April 15 to 21, Council hosted the annual Volunteer Recognition Event, this year honouring seven individuals who have donated their time, energy and skills in support of County services.

“Today, it is our honour to shine a spotlight on the tremendous dedication of these volunteers, and to express our appreciation for their selfless contributions to the Golden Plough Lodge and the Food 4 All warehouse,” stated Warden Mark Lovshin. “Through their actions in the service of others, County volunteers contribute to a legacy of compassion and community spirit through which Northumberland continues to flourish. We are truly grateful for their support.”

The Northumberland County Volunteer Recognition Event celebrates the service milestones of community members who volunteer in support of a County-managed program or service. The event recognizes volunteers celebrating 2, 5, 10, 20 and 30 years of service with the County. This annual event is held at the April meeting of County Council in conjunction with National Volunteer Week, which is an annual celebration across Canada recognizing and promoting community volunteerism.

Volunteers recognized today:

* Maggie McDougall, two years of service, Golden Plough Lodge
* Louise Blackshaw, five years of service, Golden Plough Lodge
* Diane Dunk, five years of service, Golden Plough Lodge
* Jane Ann Provost, five years of service, Food 4 All warehouse
* Richard Rieger, five years of service, Food 4 All warehouse
* Robert Smith, five years of service, Food 4 All warehouse
* Ruth Gouin, 10 years of service, Golden Plough Lodge

- 30 - 

Photo attached (Left to Right): Warden Mark Lovshin, volunteer Richard Rieger, Councillor John Logel, Councillor Bob Sanderson, volunteer Louise Blackshaw, Councillor Marc Coombs, volunteer Jane Ann Provost, Councillor Gil Brocanier, volunteer Robert Smith, Councillor Bob Crate, CAO Jennifer Moore.


Paperclip icon volunteer
Top Curve
Designed by: eSolutionsGroup